www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davholla



Joined: 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:27 am    Post subject: Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking Reply with quote

Has anyone tried this? Any thoughts? What lens have you used? Any examples?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 20165
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silly question: what does "RP" mean?

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Luisifer



Joined: 05 Sep 2018
Posts: 50
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rjlittlefield wrote:
what does "RP" mean?


It is camera model name.
https://www.dpreview.com/products/canon/slrs/canon_eosrp

(R is for new ILC camera line and P is something like Prosumer ... i think that)
_________________
https://12in.cz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 20165
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha! I had missed that one. The acronym generator inside my head was suggesting things like "Reversed Prime", which seemed crazy enough that I thought I should just ask.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thomas



Joined: 27 Sep 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 5:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking Reply with quote

davholla wrote:
Has anyone tried this? Any thoughts? What lens have you used? Any examples?


Yes. Recently started with it and works a treat.

* Canon EOS RP + Sigma 150mm Macro
* Canon EOS RP + Sigma 150mm Macro + Nikon CFI Plan Achromat 10x (MRL00102)
* Canon EOS RP + Sigma 150mm Macro + Nikon BE Plan Achromat 4x (MRN70040)

all work fine. The in-camera stacking software works fine even outdoors once you got used to it. USB-remote control works fine in studio setup. Stepping size with the Sigma 150mm in the above configurations is good for required DoF.

My setup now is basically just the camera, bean bags, lighting. No stepper motors or other complexities.

(I'm a hobbyist)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Jost



Joined: 04 Sep 2015
Posts: 3834
Location: Ecuador

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's great. Wish Panasonic would have figured that out for their S1R.
_________________
Lou Jost
www.ecomingafoundation.wordpress.com
www.loujost.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ray_parkhurst



Joined: 20 Nov 2010
Posts: 2420
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking Reply with quote

Thomas wrote:

...

USB-remote control works fine in studio setup.

...


Does that mean it works with EOS Utility?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pau
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Jan 2010
Posts: 4857
Location: Valencia, Spain

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thomas, have you tried to process the stack with Canon DPP?

After my last update I can see a focus stack option in its menu but it doesn't work with the files generated with my 7D (I expected this behavior)
_________________
Pau
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas



Joined: 27 Sep 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 12:46 am    Post subject: Re: Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking Reply with quote

ray_parkhurst wrote:
Does that mean it works with EOS Utility?


Yes.

* Canon EOS RP > USB cable > Windows 10 > EOS Utility 3

Use:
* Go to EOS Utillity 3 > Remote Shooting
* Set Focus bracketing = Enable
* Number of Shots = xx (shots for your stack)
* Focus increment = xx (focus step size between shots)
* Click OK

You can use live-view to set your starting focus point. When you take your shot, it dutifully fires off the sequence of, eg, 150 shots.

The shots are taken rapidly (several per second) and without shutter vibration, so you can take a stack of say 200 shots in maybe a minute or two.

If the end-point does not cover the required range, then you can fire off another set.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas



Joined: 27 Sep 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pau wrote:
Thomas, have you tried to process the stack with Canon DPP?


Briefly only a while back.

I can't formally judge its performance but think Zerene and Helicon likely give better results. Didn't spend much time on it. Not sure why your image source (7D) would be relevant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas



Joined: 27 Sep 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pau wrote:
After my last update I can see a focus stack option in its menu but it doesn't work with the files generated with my 7D


Not sure if my previous comment actually answered the second part of your question. If you're talking about creating stacks:

You can't use EOS Utility 3 to create a stack with cameras that don't have this feature. I had to write an application some time ago that injected the required commands into the EOS Utility application, to get around this, so I could create stacks with an Canon EOS 80D without clicking myself silly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pau
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Jan 2010
Posts: 4857
Location: Valencia, Spain

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thomas wrote:
If you're talking about creating stacks:

You can't use EOS Utility 3 to create a stack with cameras that don't have this feature.

Sure, I was referring not to take the pictures but to process them as stack.
I use Zerene and I just was curious about the new DPP function.
I didn't expect it working as new DPP features are not availabe for older cameras files in most cases, even when they could be easy to implement like some lens corrections.

Quote:
I had to write an application some time ago that injected the required commands into the EOS Utility application, to get around this, so I could create stacks with an Canon EOS 80D without clicking myself silly.

Did you make it working inside EOS Utility or outside it (like mouse clicker)?
_________________
Pau
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas



Joined: 27 Sep 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pau wrote:
Did you make it working inside EOS Utility or outside it (like mouse clicker)?


External. User input / Mouse-click injection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davholla



Joined: 26 Apr 2016
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 12:22 am    Post subject: Re: Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking Reply with quote

Thomas wrote:
davholla wrote:
Has anyone tried this? Any thoughts? What lens have you used? Any examples?


Yes. Recently started with it and works a treat.

* Canon EOS RP + Sigma 150mm Macro
* Canon EOS RP + Sigma 150mm Macro + Nikon CFI Plan Achromat 10x (MRL00102)
* Canon EOS RP + Sigma 150mm Macro + Nikon BE Plan Achromat 4x (MRN70040)

all work fine. The in-camera stacking software works fine even outdoors once you got used to it. USB-remote control works fine in studio setup. Stepping size with the Sigma 150mm in the above configurations is good for required DoF.

My setup now is basically just the camera, bean bags, lighting. No stepper motors or other complexities.

(I'm a hobbyist)

Interesting, the Sigma 150 mm is not even supported, have you tried this free hand?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas



Joined: 27 Sep 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 1:48 am    Post subject: Re: Canon EOS RP Focus Stacking Reply with quote

davholla wrote:
Interesting, the Sigma 150 mm is not even supported, have you tried this free hand?


Not sure what you mean with "not supported". It works in all usage scenarios I have thrown at it so far and it's pin sharp.

* Sigma 150mm 1:2.8 APO MACRO DG HSM

Bought quite a number of years ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group