Sharpness

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Larry45

Sharpness

Post by Larry45 »

I am using a Canon 40D, a Pentax 200mm f/4, and either a Nikon 10x or a Mitatoya 20x, and a Stackshot. I am a beginner with high ideals.

I am disatisfied with the sharpness of my image stacks. I have checked:

#1 The camera and 200mm, I can get sharp images with them.

#2 comparason of images with 10x Nikon and 20x Mitatoya

I'm putting lots of time and effort into this disatisfaction. I have ruined two camera capture bolts for the stackshot because of it. I don't think the indivitual images of the stack contain sharpness anywhere.

I wanted to check the individual objectives but I don't have a microscope upon which they will mount.

I am new to forums so please forgive me for any faux paux.

Regards,
Larry
Last edited by Larry45 on Sat Jun 29, 2019 2:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ray_parkhurst

Post by ray_parkhurst »

Are you using Live View for your shots?

Oh, and forgot to say...welcome to the forum!

Larry45

Post by Larry45 »

Hi Ray,

I'm looking forward to learning from this experience.

Yes, I use Live View when I set the beginning and ending spots of the series. I find it quite helpful for that use. I seem to have the impresson that it is best to turn it off before I run the stack. I've been using Mirror Lock to give the camera and lens time to stop shaking. I havenot looked into it but I get the idea that Live View messes with the number if images I capture.

Regards,
Larry

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Larry, welcome aboard.

Vibration is by far the most likely source of your problems. At 10X it only takes about 1 micron = 0.001 mm of movement, at the end of the lens, to give you a 2-pixel smear back at the sensor.