25mm vs 12.5mm vs 8mm for 10x magnification

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

merxx

25mm vs 12.5mm vs 8mm for 10x magnification

Post by merxx »

Hi all

I have been a long time macrophotography user but not a long time since I have discovered your forum :)

I wanted to do a comparison between my lenses for 10x magnification. First I did a series of tests to find out which is the sharpest aperture of the lens at x5. Let's say I found out that F/2.8 is the sharpest aperture for all lenses...

Well I have been using lenses reversed for over 5 years and this was the first time I noticed this...

The 8mm lens at f/2.8 is darker at 10x compared to the 12.5mm at 10x and the 12.5/2.8 was darker at 10x compared to the 25/2.8. I am not really sure if this should be the case, I thought it should be the other way around because with longer lenses you need longer bellows thus more light lost..... or maybe it is a lighting issue ( but doesn't seem ) ? Is this how it should behave or my conclusions are wrong ?

Well the 12.5mm F/1.9 is a Wollensak raptar D-mount cine lens and it gives a little worse results to the olympus 20mm macro ( paid 5$ ). Quite useable at f/2.8 but tests show F/4 to be even better.

The 25mm f/1.4 at f/2.8 is as good as the olympus 20mm macro ( very little difference ) . At x10-x15 F/2.8 looks much better than F/4 , contrast is there , all in all amazing lens. It is a Pentax ( cosmicar rebranded ) TV lens .. VERY sharp BUT the 12.5/1.9 cine lens gives more detail when you go beyond X15

The 8mm F/1.3 is a wide angle TV lens. It is sharp at f/2.8 but looks sharper at F/4 , I'll test it a little more..

I used to have the Tominon 17mm f/4 but was quite dissapointed with the contrast and the f/4 when going beyond x10

enricosavazzi

Re: 25mm vs 12.5mm vs 8mm for 10x magnification

Post by enricosavazzi »