My workshop (ideas and projects)

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

paganel

My workshop (ideas and projects)

Post by paganel »

All my life I worked as a designer and a programmer - identity, web, animation, games etc. And all my works was digital. However, I always dreamed of working with my hands and constructing different hardware. Some years ago, one of my friends ask me to construct a slider for videography. This pushed me to combine my two hobbies - photography and engineering. I learned the basics of electronics, CAD software, CNC, 3D printing, design circuit boards etc. My first devices were ugly but it's worked and good worked. By time, my design skills help me with user interfaces and product design. I built my first 3D printer, found excellent CNC masters, and learned how to prepare drawings and build 3D models for CNC milling. And it's really cool. Photo- and videographers began to contact me to order something that cannot be bought (or it costs like a plane). Most of them were amateurs and they were not ready to buy professional equipment. I designed camera sliders for video and time-lapse, motorized tables for 360 photography, and a big variety of small but must-have devices.

It not a business (I still work as a designer and art director), but it has stopped to be a hobby.
Thanks for reading until this paragraph :)

Of course, one of my key devices is macro rails and macro photography hardware. As different models of diffusers, stages, holders etc. Probably we read my old posts with first macro experiments. I open a new topic to collect all my engineering ideas in one place.
I hope you find my projects useful. My English not so good, sorry.

Macro rails