Infinite fluorescence on an Olympus BH2

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

micro_pix

Infinite fluorescence on an Olympus BH2

Post by micro_pix »

Marek Mis wrote:
Could you show your set. I use Olympus BH-2 too and I think to start somewhen fluorescence. I have no experience in fluorescence so every tip is very appreciated.

Marek
Here goes:- sorry it's a bit wordy and I won’t include lots of photos as they are easy to find. The manuals for the fluorescence adapters and catalogues for all of the BH2 equipment mentioned are available on a well known web site.

I bought my first Olympus BH2 BHS on Ebay a few years ago and it came with a bare BH2 RFL fluorescence attachment which, until recently, was left in a drawer. I didn't get around to using it as I needed more parts to get it working and I was still busy seeking out the parts to explore phase, D.I.C., Pol, epi and darkfield. A while later I bought a job lot from an auction that included the original wooden box for the Olympus RFL fluorescence kit, there was no RFL in there but there was a part set of barrier filters, supplementary exciters, a lamp centering/focusing objective and end caps for the RFL. I started looking at what else I needed to get fluorescence working on the BH2.

What I have learnt (and this is just my experience so it may not all be correct) is:-

There are three attachments that will enable epi-fluorescence on an Olympus BH2. The BH2 UMA, the BH2 RFC and the BH2 RFL. All of them can be used with either a Halogen or Mercury Lamp but the mercury lamp gives more intensity, especially at the shorter wavelengths, you also need the dedicated power supply for the lamp.