First Post photos and questions about Magnification

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Jon B

First Post photos and questions about Magnification

Post by Jon B »

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here, but I have been following this forum for a while now, learning a lot and finding lots of sources of inspiration.
I'm a woodworker/carpenter by trade and spend a lot of time sharpening, and experimenting with different sharpening techniques, mediums, etc. That combined with my interest in macro photography has led me to attempt taking photos of the edges of tools (primarily Japanese plane blades) during and after sharpening. It's quite common for people to use a handheld microscope to inspect the edge after sharpening but until now I have struggled to find a decent way to capture an image.

Anyhow this forum introduced me to the possibilities of using my camera (Fuji xt-20) along with a Nikon 40x 0.5ELWD 210/0 objective. I certainly have a lot to improve upon, but some initial shots using a simplistic setup to mount and capture images of the edges of some plane blades has produced decent results. A huge improvement over previous attempts to take photos through a pocket microscope using a cell phone camera :roll: