Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM vs EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

papakatz45

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM vs EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro

Post by papakatz45 »

I am new to macro photography but have done a lot of wildlife at distance. Now I want to get close-up. Bugs & flowers.

Are there any thoughts of preference to the Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM vs EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM?

Seems to me the extra working distance would be a benefit. What are the pros and cons?

I am using a Canon EOS-50D.

Money is not an issue.

Also, Ringlight or Twin-Head?

Any help you "experts" can give me will be greatly appreciated.

Peter M. Macdonald

Post by Peter M. Macdonald »

Hello and Welcome,

Let me be the first to rely to your question, without actually giving you an answer! However, I will try to give you some things to consider when making your own decision.

I have used both a 100 mm and a 180 mm macro lens for some years. The 100 mm is the old style, non L series, Canon macro lens. It is my workhorse macro lens, as it is much easier to work with handheld than the 180 mm. However, for things like butterflies and large moths, the 180 comes into its own as the extra working distance makes it much easier to get within range of a skittish subject. Flies can often be approached with either lens. Do you have a particular set of subjects in mind, or do you want to shoot a broad spectrum of small wildlife?

I have used both of the lenses which you are considering. Whichever one you choose, you will not be upset by the optical or the build quality. They are some of the sharpest macro lenses ever made.