Setting up Home Studio.

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

yardman

Setting up Home Studio.

Post by yardman »

I have been photographing insects in the field for about three years. I now plan to photograph insects in a home studio. I have a good idea how I will set up my camera and StackShot but there are one of two areas that I need some help with, namely..
1. What ways are there to set the insect up for the shooting?
2. What are the ethics for killing insects to perform close up? photography. In the field I have always cared for the life of the critters I shoot.
3. How do you kill insects (say a fly) and then preserve it for photographing?
4. I have seen studio set-ups with small goose-neck lamps. I have been unable the source any such lamps. Anyone know where they can be bought?
5. Do LED bulbs produce a colour cast?

BugEZ

Bug Ethics, and lighting

Post by BugEZ »

Yardman,

1. I started killing bugs with Black Flag spray... Bad idea... Very messy and the bugs looked oiled. I now use ther freezer. 15 minutes in the deep freeze in the basement, or 20-25 in the side by side in the kitchen. If you are "serious" about this hobby, you may wish to get a killing jar. I have not done this so can't give good killing jar advice. There is abundant information on collecting/killing insects on the internet. As far as arranging the insect for photographing I usually super glue them to a toothpick. Prior to glueing I color the toothpick black with a permanent magic marker. This helps with glare as a toothpick can reflect a lot of light. I have a forked holder that I stick the toothpick into (a round type toothpick, not square!) and it allows me to twirl the bug as well as tip it.