Flash for stacking?

Images taken in a controlled environment or with a posed subject. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Oldbear67

Flash for stacking?

Post by Oldbear67 »

Beginner here.

I am trying to image small specimens (1 to 2 mm) with a DSLR and a Nikon objective. I am concerned with camera shutter vibration (CanonT5) and considering going to flash.

Is there an inexpensive flash system that will cycle fast (2 to 5 sec), and can image 100 frames without burning through wheelbarrows of AA batteries?

Scarodactyl

Re: Flash for stacking?

Post by Scarodactyl »

If you shoot in live view the T5 has efcs. There shouldn't be any issue with shutter shake.

colohank

Post by colohank »

No matter which flash units you use, remember the law of inverse squares and strive to position them as close as you can to the subject without introducing glare or reflections. When flash-to-subject distance is reduced, so is the duration of flash pulses needed for proper exposure and the time needed to re-form the flash capacitor between shots. At 1/128 power, my fully charged Godox MF-12 units can easily produce two hundred or more flashes at less than one second intervals. The MF-12s have a built-in lithium-ion batteries. If your flash units rely instead on AA batteries for power, then by all means switch to rechargeable NiMH Eneloop Pro batteries or the equivalent. I understand that the Eneloops can be recharged hundreds of times, so cost-savings compared with disposable single-use batteries are considerable.

MarkSturtevant

Post by MarkSturtevant »

Is there a reason why continuous lighting through an AC power source cannot be used?
Mark Sturtevant
Dept. of Still Waters

Oldbear67

Post by Oldbear67 »

Is there a relatively inexpensive flash that will operate with 110 V?

colohank

Post by colohank »