An introduction and some micrographs

Images taken in a controlled environment or with a posed subject. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

worm

An introduction and some micrographs

Post by worm »

Hello all!
I'm a grad student in spatial ecology that got into field macro photography about a year ago as a way to learn entomology , which has become a minor focus of my graduate work. My work primarily focuses on understanding invasion as a global biological process and I'm currently trying to characterize how different insect taxa move around the world in global trade. About 6 months ago I found this forum and began working on my studio stacking rig. I have things finalized enough now to say hello to the forum and share a few of my first images. Thanks particularly to Beatsy for his images of his dome lighting setup - I've been incorporating a lot of your ideas on swing-down dome diffusers.

Calocera cornea
4x Amscope objective
Nikon Bellows
Panasonic G95

looks like I'm losing quite a bit of sharpness when rescaling for this forum - I'll try to improve my procedure
Attachments
calcera_04.jpg

worm

Re: An introduction and some micrographs

Post by worm »

Unidentified Cribraria sp.

same as above with Edmund optics flavor Nikon 10x finite
cribaria_01.jpg

MarkSturtevant

Post by MarkSturtevant »

Very interesting! A way to post pictures here is to put them on a photo sharing site (Flickr is good), and to then use the Share tool in there to post here. The pictures can then be enlarged if a viewer wishes.
Mark Sturtevant
Dept. of Still Waters

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Welcome aboard! Your studio stacking seems to be coming along very well!
worm wrote:
Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:40 am
looks like I'm losing quite a bit of sharpness when rescaling for this forum - I'll try to improve my procedure
The most important thing is to be aware of the issue and sharpen appropriately after resizing.