Honey bee eye

Images taken in a controlled environment or with a posed subject. All subject types.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

dgarnick

Honey bee eye

Post by dgarnick »

I work with museums to create imagery for exhibitions. I'm currently starting on a project illustrating insect morphology as it relates to insects' behaviors and environments. I post-process the photos to give them the look of lithographic prints. The goal is to engage the public, and illustrate specific features. To do this, I use portrait lighting techniques. I also crush the tonal range (i.e. "posterization"), and perform other travesties that appall a lot of photographers :)

I realize my goals for image results are very different from those of most members here. I admire the work I see on this site, and I'm learning a lot here as I'm a novice at working smaller than 1:1. I'm just curious how folks here view this type of treatment. Honest opinions appreciated. The photo is the eye of a honey bee (Apis mellifera).

bee-eye.jpg
David Garnick

leonardturner

Re: Honey bee eye

Post by leonardturner »

The canopy of photography/processing covers a broad area embracing many specific purposes and uses. While not providing maximal nuance or a platform for comparative analysis, I can easily see how this type of image would serve the purpose for which you produced it quite well. Impactful, and nicely done.

Leonard

dgarnick

Post by dgarnick »

leonardturner wrote:
Thu Feb 11, 2021 4:24 am
While not providing maximal nuance or a platform for comparative analysis, I can easily see how this type of image would serve the purpose for which you produced it quite well.
Well put, Leonard.
David Garnick

MarkSturtevant

Post by MarkSturtevant »

I was about to say that, but Leonard beat me to it! :^o
Doing this would be like a dream job for me, btw.
Mark Sturtevant
Dept. of Still Waters

dgarnick

Post by dgarnick »

MarkSturtevant wrote:
Thu Feb 11, 2021 11:12 pm