olympus zeiss 10x ojective lens

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

scenario

olympus zeiss 10x ojective lens

Post by scenario »

I went looking for a nikon 10x cfn in new zealand and could not find any was offered a nikon 4x cfn a nikon 10x 25 infinity focus a olympus 10x s plan and a zeiss s plan any suggestions the servise manager favoured the zeiss over the olympus both about same price and close to new

Grahame

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

I have no personal experience with any of those objectives.

At http://www.photomacrography.net/forum/v ... php?t=6968, Antonio shows good results from an "olympus pln 10x". I'm sure he would be willing to tell exactly what that objective is, if asked.

In general you want to avoid "infinity" objectives for use on bellows. Those are designed for use with an additional "tube lens", specific to the manufacturer. They'll work without the tube lens, but the images may not be as good as possible.

--Rik

mgoodm3

Post by mgoodm3 »

I have an Olympus plan N 4x/0.1 infinity-corrected (RMS) that works quite well without a tube lens.

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

mgoodm3 wrote:I have an Olympus plan N 4x/0.1 infinity-corrected (RMS) that works quite well without a tube lens.
Good to know. In theory, at 4X an NA 0.1 objective should be about equal to a really good macro lens set at f/4. So depending on prices and what flexibility you need, the objective could be a better buy.

--Rik

Charles Krebs

Post by Charles Krebs »

There are so many different objectives out there that it's tough to offer an opinion on ones that have not actually been "tried" and proven.

When considering objectives that no one has used before, it's probably best to consider the following "rules"....