which 20x microscope optics to choose ?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

smugles

which 20x microscope optics to choose ?

Post by smugles »

Hello, I'm French, I'm a new member. I've been stacking photos for a few years, I'd like to improve. I have a request to make to you please:
I would like to have your opinion on microscope optics: I'm looking for a 20x infinity (not too expensive...) and WD 10.4 minimum
- I searched on E-bay and it's not easy to find the M Plan 20x unless I look badly !
- I sold a generic Plan 20x 0.40 infinity WD 10.4 which gave "acceptable" pictures but without more... I have a 20X Nikon rms CF Plan 0.40 WD 3.1
so I can't stack on microminerals and I base my leisure activity on it only. No other use. Also my Nikon can't be used?
I have an APS/C- a DCR 250 on a Wemacro motorized stand
If you have in mind a lens to advise me?
I read this post too on this forum : 20x Microscope Objectives
thans for your help.

aphi

Re: which 20x microscope optics to choose ?

Post by aphi »

Isn't a 20x objective kind of pointless for most cameras, since the camera will outresolve the objective simply due to diffraction? Unless I misunderstood a bunch of things, at m=20, a sensor with a pixel pitch of say p = 5 µm would resolve p/m = 250 nm on the object side of the objective, which is a resolution it physically cannot reach.

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

smugles, welcome aboard!

20X and long working distance is a tough combination.

The gold standard is 20X NA 0.42 Mitutoyo M Plan Apo, but as you've noticed those are hard to find used, even in uncertain condition. The Mitutoyo M Plan objectives are also noted for being relatively fragile, so used units have to be carefully checked before finally accepting them.