Equipment advice needed for a story about the invisible world

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Perfekto

Equipment advice needed for a story about the invisible world

Post by Perfekto »

Note to admin: I am reposting this message in this forum which I think is more specific, please feel free to delete my other one here

Bonjour, from France,

I am trying to put together the list of equipment I need to make a (self-funded) film with only microscopic actors.
I am already making a film with only insects that I shot in the Philippines jungles over 2 years. So I am familiar with cameras and the challenges of macro videography. It's a film where all the characters are insects, not like a documentary, more like a contemplative story to stimulate the imagination and spread awareness about the richness in nature.
But I am a complete newbie in mater of microvideography. This is why I really need help choosing the proper equipment. I am also aware equipment is only a fraction of the situation, but I really can't afford accidentally buying stuff that will produce bad results or that I won't even use !

My number one goal is to achieve 4K video shots that are visually aesthetically pleasing, at magnifications between X5 & X 20 (I don't know how much higher I'll be able to film with my modest budget), and as much depth of field as quantumly possible!
I am very admirative of the work of these artists, if you don't know them, I really encourage you to take a look 😍 : Craig Smith, Mike Roscope, or also Marek Mis.
So these are the kinds of results I am aiming for, if I manage to reach these levels of talent. I am just giving this information as pointers so you can better advise me equipment-wise.