episcopic adapter

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

soldevilla

episcopic adapter

Post by soldevilla »

I have no experience in this. I want to do some photography tests using incident light, that is, a beam splitter that sends the light through the optics of the microscope objective, and that light reflected from the object goes back through the beam splitter to go to the camera. I am writing this because I have seen lenses that have a conduit for light around the lenses like a small ring illuminator, and that does not work for me.

Is there a module that can be attached to a modular system like the ones we use? that is, not a complete microscope, but an objective, some extension tubes and the camera, all organized on a guide support with a stepper motor.

And one last question. Isn't this system extremely sensitive to loss of contrast and reflections in the image?

Thank you

Pau
Site Admin

Re: episcopic adapter

Post by Pau »

Beginning from the end,
And one last question. Isn't this system extremely sensitive to loss of contrast and reflections in the image?
Yes, it is, due to reflections both on the subject surface and on the objective lens elements.
In many cases this kind of systems use crossed polarizers, a polarizer between the light source and the beamsplitter and an analizer between the BS and the sensor.
To avoid objective internal reflections often you can see a rotatable 1/4 wave plate between the objective and the sample ("antiflex" in Zeiss naming)

Likely Thorlabs and similar Optics big names could have the kind of device you want, although I guess much less expensive adapting a microscope epiiluminator for the task (even more when mastering 3D printing :D )
Pau

soldevilla

Post by soldevilla »

Oh! Thanks, Pau. I go to try find something in internet...

Scarodactyl

Post by Scarodactyl »