How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: ChrisR, Chris S., Pau, rjlittlefield

Adalbert
Posts: 1129
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,
Does anybody know how to increase the performance of the Lightroom 6 (last not abo) ?
The conversion of the 999 files to the TIFF takes over two hours (Ryzen 9 & 128GB RAM & M2-SSD) :-(
Thank you in advance.
BR, ADi

Steve S
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 1:52 pm
Location: Southern Arizona, USA

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by Steve S »

I was doing just this with LR today so I timed it. Eight per minute, pretty much the same as you, but I'm sure I have a considerably slower computer and the TIFFs were 100Mpx from Fuji GFX 100 raws; I expect your files were smaller. The difference must be I'm using the subscription LR. Surely you have a more powerful graphics card as well, which you presumably have enabled.

Adalbert
Posts: 1129
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by Adalbert »

Hi Steve,

Yes, the size of my CR3-file = 32MB.

But I have to convert the CR3-files to the DNG first (the size of the DNG = 30MB).
The performance of the Adobe DNG-converter is excellent :-)

Then I convert using LR the DNG into the TIFF (the size of the TIFF = 184MB).

BTW, I can set the priority of the LR-process to the real-time but it doesn’t change anything :-(

BR, ADi

Steve S
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 1:52 pm
Location: Southern Arizona, USA

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by Steve S »

My RAFs run 85-90MB, the TIFFs 770MB.

dhmiller
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:42 am
Contact:

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by dhmiller »

Why do you have to convert to DNG first?

chris_ma
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:23 pm

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by chris_ma »

Lightroom unfortunately often has performance problems - new versions should be slightly better but still not fast.
on the upside, the debayering is one of the best I've seen so far.

some idea (most of which you already tried already):
- Get a really fast SSD, ie one with fast controller and interface (like NVMe). Like a Samsung 970 Pro or Samsung 970 EVO if money is tight.
- You might bet slightly better results with a separate SSD for source RAW files and another for the export TIFF files
- Check the settings in preferences->performance and see if you can find a combination (GPU, cache etc) that brings improvements

most likely the older LR6 version is not fully optimised for a modern machine and you'd see some improvements in the CC Classic version.
chris

Adalbert
Posts: 1129
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Dennis,
Because the raw-module of the LR 6.14 doesn’t support the CR3 of the M6M2 :-(
BR, ADi

Adalbert
Posts: 1129
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Chris,

I use the (last not abo) version 6.14 of the Lightroom.
Yes, I have been looking for the best/optimal settings.
e.g.
- Real memory available to Lightroom
- Real memory used by Lightroom
- Virtual memory used by Lightroom


The sysinfo of LR shows the following values:

Code: Select all

Lightroom version: 6.14 [ 1149743 ]
License: Perpetual
Language setting: en
Operating system: Windows 10 - Business Edition
Version: 10.0.18363
Application architecture: x64
System architecture: x64
Logical processor count: 24
Processor speed: 3,7 GHz
Built-in memory: 130982,8 MB
Real memory available to Lightroom: 130982,8 MB
Real memory used by Lightroom: 346,7 MB (0,2%)
Virtual memory used by Lightroom: 327,2 MB
GDI objects count: 414
USER objects count: 910
Process handles count: 3810
Memory cache size: 0,0MB / 32489,7MB (0,0%)
Maximum thread count used by Camera Raw: 13
Camera Raw SIMD optimization: SSE2,AVX,AVX2
Camera Raw virtual memory: 0MB / 65491MB (0%)
System DPI setting: 144 DPI (high DPI mode)
Desktop composition enabled: Yes
Displays: 1) 3840x2160

Graphics Processor Info: 
AMD Radeon RX 5700

Check OpenGL support: Passed
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
Version: 3.3.13587 Core Profile Context 20.4.2 26.20.15029.27017
Renderer: AMD Radeon RX 5700
LanguageVersion: 4.60
BTW, normally I use M2-SSD (PCIE 4) but I have already tested everything on the RAM-disk.

BR, ADi

chris_ma
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:23 pm

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by chris_ma »

seems like you already tested the important parts.
unfortunately I don't have LR6 installed anymore to test, but here an article from 2018 about the speed improvements from 6 to CC Classic:
https://photographylife.com/lightroom-6 ... comparison
so about 72% speedup on a desktop PC and 70% on an iMac Pro between LR6 and LR CC Classic 2018. and they also mention that if LR 6 only can use 12GB RAM.
I imagine things have improved further since 2018.

so unfortunately the easiest way to improve performance would be to bite the bullet and upgrade to CC. at the current price it's really very reasonable, but I worry that they might crank up the price eventually.
chris

Adalbert
Posts: 1129
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Re: How to increase the performance of Lightroom?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Chris,
Many thanks for the link!
BR, ADi

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic