Controlling Motorized rigs - Arduino or Raspberry Pi?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

bhf

Controlling Motorized rigs - Arduino or Raspberry Pi?

Post by bhf »

Hello, hope everyone is doing well.

My main goal with the post is to figure out what computer platform is going to control these two rigs I have going, but below is general info (& other questions) for those interested & to help determine which one might have suitable code already for my two uses.

Feel free to skip all the detail if you have knowledge about either of these platforms when it comes to controlling stepper motors for photographic applications. I am not a coder and have been assuming I would be able to hobble through altering an existing Arduino sketch or even considered GRBL/gcode cnc applications to control the stepper motors. I don't really know about the options on Raspberry, but saw this post https://www.photomacrography.net/forum/ ... =projector which made me think of the platform

1) I am repurposing a motorized microscope to become a 4x5/smaller film scanner. It has an x/y axis split between a specimen stage and the axis that controls the tube/camera. I replaced the vertical mount that held the original navitar tubes with an L bracket that has an arca swiss clamp on top.

The main reason for that decision was to be able to offset the camera and center the lens so that I still got the extreme edges of the specimen stage in frame. I have a working area a little bigger than 4"x5" so happy my guess that I had enough was correct.

I have been figuring out which lens gives good working distance & a mag range of .75 - 1.5x, and after trying a few arrangements I think a 80mm is going to be the best fit. Going to give the componon-s f4 makro a try soon. If someone has another lens suggestion let me know.