Zerene & LR execution on HDD vs. SSD vs. M2 vs. RAM

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: Pau, rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S.

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 21028
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Post by rjlittlefield »

Do you know any better method how to split the stack into some sub-stacks which can be executed at the same time?
I suggest to set the output naming template to use the {mininp}-{maxinp} tags, so that each slab output will include the range of input files that went into making it.

--Rik

Smokedaddy
Posts: 1710
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:16 am
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Contact:

Post by Smokedaddy »

... just curious, what RAM are you using, DDR4-3600 CL16 RAM?

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Rik,
OK, I will try with “ {method} {mininp:4}-{maxinp} ”
BR, ADi

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Smokedaddy,
I have this one:
Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO black DIMM Kit 64GB, DDR4-3600, CL18-22-22-42 (CMW64GX4M2D3600C18)
BR, ADi

Smokedaddy
Posts: 1710
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:16 am
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Contact:

Post by Smokedaddy »

Ryzen chips are very picky for the ram being used.

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Yes, therefore I have chosen this one (one of the best :-)

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Rik,
So, I have just created two scripts with the Bugslabber
but the name of the output-file in both scripts is:
<OutputImageNaming.Template value="Slab {outseq} {method}" />
It is independent of the settings in Zerene :-(
I will have to analyse the settings of the Bugslaber.
BR, ADi

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 21028
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Post by rjlittlefield »

Adalbert wrote:I will have to analyse the settings of the Bugslaber.
Click the button at top left of center, "ZS Preferences". Then in the lower right corner, select "Template:" and fill in the appropriate template.

Image

--Rik

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Rik,
The test is running :-)
Many thanks!
BR, ADi

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

The first test with two sessions of Zerene at the same time has been executed successfully :-)

Conclusion: the both tasks have been executed in the same time. CPU usage 70 % ; CPU temp 65 degrees Celsius.
So, in the case of 2 sub-stacks I have won 50% of the time.

The bottleneck is the task “align all frames”, which has to be executed with all files in one task :-(
Hmm, how to increase the performance of the “align all frames” ?

BR, ADi

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 21028
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Post by rjlittlefield »

Adalbert wrote:Hmm, how to increase the performance of the “align all frames” ?
I don't know any powerful magic for that.

Incremental improvements over default can be made by disabling any Alignment options that are not needed, and by un-checking the options to create screen preview images.

--Rik

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Rik,
disabling any Alignment options that are not needed
could you explain please?

Thank you in advance.

BR, ADi

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 21028
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Post by rjlittlefield »

Adalbert wrote:
disabling any Alignment options that are not needed
could you explain please?
Just the usual...

If your setup prevents rotation, then un-check Rotation.
If your illumination is stable or you are using only PMax, then un-check Brightness.
If you are working at high magnification say 10X and above, or if you are using telecentric or near-telecentric optics, then un-check Scale.
If you have an extraordinarily stable system that requires no Alignment adjustments, then un-check everything.

--Rik

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Rik,
extraordinarily stable system that requires no Alignment adjustments
my system is ultra-light and in order to avoid any problem with vibrations I use the flash on 1/128 power.
I’m afraid I have to run “Align All Frames” before I create the sub-stacks.

BTW, maybe the internal slabbing of the next release of Zerene could help?

BR, ADi

mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

Flash does not help subject movement due to vibration or any other sources causing movement, it only helps reduce the blur effects due to movement during the exposure and is effective because the exposure is short and it "freezes" the movement. This only works in the final stacking if the software is allowed to align the images. If you turn alignment OFF and you have subject or camera/lens movements the final stacked image will suffer.

Subject or lens/camera movements must be addressed in the setup.

Best,
Research is like a treasure hunt, you don't know where to look or what you'll find!
~Mike

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic