Flange Mod for use with Nikon 1.4TC

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: Pau, rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S.

mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

Thanks Rik!!

I had used the incorrect lens F# instead of the correct Effective F#, (1+1)*2.8 for F, thus the larger NA by 2 times!! Should have realized that a 0.179 NA for an F 2.8 lens at 1X was not realistic, my bad!!

My sincere apologies to harisA about the incorrect NA. So one only needs greater than a 250MP full frame sensor to out-resolve the PN105 instead of the > 950MP sensor!

Best,

Mike

Lou Jost
Posts: 4583
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:03 am
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Post by Lou Jost »

I'm almost there. I have made a device to to move my MFT sensor across an aerial image in the x-y direction, mounted on a WeMacro rail for stacking in the z direction. In hi-res mode I get 80 Mp (really about 50Mp worth of resolution), times 4 to cover the whole area of a FF sensor, for 200-240Mp.

harisA
Posts: 498
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 9:31 am
Location: Greece

Post by harisA »

Thank you Rik for clearing this.It's obvious that a low magnification microscope objective (1x-2x) has no lack compared with a macro lens at same magnification. Not to mention the small image circle these objectives always have.

mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

PN105 with 1.7TC

Post by mawyatt »

Found an older Nikon TC-17E II that I used the modded F fount adapter with the Nikkor PN105 F2.8A for another test with the D800E. Used the same old 6" silicon wafer as a test subject for this 1.7X test. You can see more CA at the edges and also loss of sharpness as expected.

Not sure how this stacks up against the best lenses around 2X, but at least it works and produces an acceptable result IMO. I won't be running any comparison tests around 2X since I have nothing respectable to compare with this combo.

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/my ... tOrder=asc

Best,

Mike

rjlittlefield
Site Admin
Posts: 21036
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:34 am
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA
Contact:

Post by rjlittlefield »

harisA wrote:It's obvious that a low magnification microscope objective (1x-2x) has no lack compared with a macro lens at same magnification. Not to mention the small image circle these objectives always have.
Right, 1x-2x microscope objectives really have nothing to recommend them, unless you need to work at 1x-2x within the frame of a microscope that the objective fits.

For a microscopist, 1x-2x objectives can be very useful for looking at large subjects.

But anybody else will do better with an ordinary lens, which is simpler to design and build, so works better at same or lower price.

--Rik

harisA
Posts: 498
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 9:31 am
Location: Greece

Post by harisA »

Mike the link is not working for me giving a server error message.

mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »


mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

Here's the link for the Nikkor PN-105mm on D800E at 1X:

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/my ... 0_0005_000

at 1.4X with the Nikon TC:

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/my ... 0_0006_000

and 1.7X with the Nikon TC:

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/my ... 0_0007_000

As you can see the CA gets worse, as does the corner sharpness, with the TC and degrades with TC magnification.

Best,

Mike

ChrisR
Site Admin
Posts: 8561
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:58 am
Location: Near London, UK

Post by ChrisR »

All give "Server Error" or "Please Log In Again" , depending on browser.
Chris R

Lou Jost
Posts: 4583
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:03 am
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Post by Lou Jost »

Same for me now.

mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

This works for me from my Mac Pro, I'll try my MacBook Pro laptop.

From my MBP it say's I need to sign up or log in from each. So maybe you need to sign up, which is free.

I logged in from my MBP and it works, so looks as if you have to log in to view images. This may be different policy since my links earlier in this thread which evidently did not require a log in to view.

Lou Jost
Posts: 4583
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:03 am
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Post by Lou Jost »

I can confirm that I didn't need to log in to see your earlier linked image.

mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

Think the Nikon policy must have changed since I first posted.

mawyatt
Posts: 2479
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:54 pm
Location: Clearwater

Post by mawyatt »

Here's another try with different approach, also including 2X version with old Tamron 2X TC.

With Tamron 2X TC

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/gu ... 5XIoBLwptE

With no TC @ 1X

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/gu ... 5XIoBLwptE

With Nikon 1.4TC @ 1,4X

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/gu ... 5XIoBLwptE


With Nikon 1.7TC

https://nis.nikonimagespace.com/html/gu ... 5XIoBLwptE

Lou Jost
Posts: 4583
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:03 am
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Post by Lou Jost »

That works, and the 1.7 x image looks very clean, but though I can get it to fill my monitor screen, I cannot figure out how to zoom in to 100%.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic