Full-frame or APSC for macro. with a finite microscope lens?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: Pau, rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S.

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Full-frame or APSC for macro. with a finite microscope lens?

Post by Adalbert »

Hello everybody,

As far as I can see, it is better to take the photographs with the APS-C cameras if you use the finity microscope lenses (without any ocular/relay - lens).

What do you think about the CANON EOS M3 ?

Advantage:
+ APS-C size
+ 24.2 megapixel
+ small and light
+ control the camera with a smartphone
+ tilt screen
+ mirrorless

Disadvantage:
- no shutter release via cable
- no focus bracketing like Olympus

Have I forgotten anything in my pros & cons list?

Thank you in advance.

Best regards,
Adi

ChrisR
Site Admin
Posts: 8561
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:58 am
Location: Near London, UK

Post by ChrisR »

Check if it has "EFSC" - I don't think it has.

Pau
Site Admin
Posts: 5164
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:57 am
Location: Valencia, Spain

Post by Pau »

The info at Canon website is a bit unclear: it says
Silent Shooting Not provided but also " Electronic 1st curtain and mechanical 2nd curtain (Hybrid Single Blade Shutter) "

So it has compulsory EFSC, but how well it works is a matter of testing it.
Pau

Ichthyophthirius
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:24 am

Post by Ichthyophthirius »

When you use it in smartphone mode, does it record RAW files on the camera?

Previously, it only sent JPG and recorded JPG with the Remote App, RAW was not possible. Hopefully they have changed this since.

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Chris,
Is this something like the silent-mode in the live-view of e.g. CANON EOS 6D (my current camera) ?
If yes, then I don’t really need this feature, because I would like to flash on thy 2nd-curtain sync.
Bye, Adi

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Pau,
What about the flashing on 2nd curtain; does it work in EOS M3 ?
If not then I would control the flashes with the Yongnuo 662C.
Bye , Adi

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Ichthyophthirius,
My current camera is CANON EOS 6D (old one :-)
If I use it in the smartphone mode, it creates RAW files.
EOS M3 is new one, so it should (I hope) also support this feature.
Bye, Adi

Pau
Site Admin
Posts: 5164
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:57 am
Location: Valencia, Spain

Post by Pau »

Adi, I don't have that camera, maybe someone who has it could answer your question with good base. In principle it seems posible, it consits in firing the flash just before closing the shutter, but....

If the electronic first courtain works without vibration there isn't any real advantage of 2nd courtain syc for normal macro or micro work. Electonic flash is faster than the camera shutter and much faster if fired lower than full power.
Pau

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hi Pau,

OK :-)

I only use the flash and the 2nd courtain syc for the focus-stacking.

Bye, Adi

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Chris,

Unfortunately you are right; M3 doesn’t have this feature :-(

http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_EOS_M3/

“Sadly there's no silent 100% electronic shutter option”

Bye, Adi

Pau
Site Admin
Posts: 5164
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:57 am
Location: Valencia, Spain

Post by Pau »

Adalbert wrote:Unfortunately you are right; M3 doesn’t have this feature :-(

http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_EOS_M3/

“Sadly there's no silent 100% electronic shutter option”
In fact, as I said based in camera specifications it has EFSC enabled all the time (Electronic First Shutter Courtain) and mechanical second courtain. What is unknown is how well it works. No electronic second courtain, of course (No DSLR has it AFAIK)
Pau

Adalbert
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:09 pm

Post by Adalbert »

Hello Pau,
Yes, you are right.
Probably it would be better to ask someone who has already tested this camera.
I’m interested in it because I have a lot of the CANON lenses and I could use them with the M3.
Bye, Adi

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic