Any experience with these microscopes?

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

JL

Any experience with these microscopes?

Post by JL »

I am considering to replace my current petrographical microscope and the more likely candidates are a brand new Motic BA310 pol, fitted with infinite optics, or a Olympus BH2-BHS, from the late ´80s, fitted with SPlan finite objectives.

I wonder if anyone on the forum have working experience with these microscopes and would like to share their weaknesses and strengths.

My current microscope is a chinese made (Pro-Way) that I have been using for about three years. It does show several problems on design, poor materials selection and lousy quality control. Therefore, I am a bit hesitant on acquiring another chinese microscope, although Motic is gaining presence in the market and apparently they produce some microscopes for Zeiss and Leica.

On the other hand, the Olympus BH2 was a very successful product that was widely used in universities and research institutes. However, this microscope line is about 25 years old, and one have to wonder on the use and maintenance that it could have enjoyed over the years, and furthermore, how easy would be to get spare parts or accessories.

Any input would be appreciated, regards.

José L.

Ichthyophthirius

Post by Ichthyophthirius »

Hi José,

For a hobbyist, a pre-owned microscope is the best value for money. A pre-owned microscope will cost 10-30% of the original price, so you can get a research-class microscope (like the BH2) for the price of a new routine microscope. While the optics of microscopes have improved since the 1980s, the mechanical quality has become somewhat worse. If you like the built quality of a "real" microscope, go for a used model. Plus there is the added benefit for the environment of using a second hand equipment.