First photos and image editing

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

cordyceps

First photos and image editing

Post by cordyceps »

Hello everyone,
I want to ask you, for some microphotography and image editing tips because it is my first week of microphotography and I have never edited photos before. I have some experience in microscopy and I have good equipment for that, but I my knowledge about microphotography and photography in general is very low. I took three photos of some creature: 1st - bight field, 2nd and 3rd I used simple polarisation (polarizing foil + transparent plastic from CD box). I am using Olympus BHT with 100W halogen lamp. I connected Canon EOS 550d with photo bellows to trinocular head, using tape. I want to order some intermediate rings soon, I am aware that tape isn't the best way to do that ;)
I took that three photos with Olympus SPlan Apo 20x, and Olympus photo eyepiece NFK 2,5 LD.
I edited those photos in GIMP 2.10 with few steps:
1. Colour levels
2. Saturation
3. Spot heal
4. Sharpness

1st photo - without editing
1st photo - after editing
2nd photo - without editing
2nd photo - after editing
3rd photo - without editing
3rd photo - after editing

My goals: in microphotography I am looking for visual sensations of the photos, so I am more intrested in the aristis side of microphotography, then documentation of different species.
I know that this and other forums are great source of knowledge, but posts are very random and sometimes chaotic, so it is hard for me to learn directly from different forum posts. Specially if I am a beginner, and don't even know when and how to start. If you have any type of advices, about my set-up, photos, photos editing, books I can read, I will be really grateful.
I hope you are all doing alright,
Karol

Ichthyophthirius