Need Help Using Wild M5 Photo Tube A 256528

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

rwilliams319

Need Help Using Wild M5 Photo Tube A 256528

Post by rwilliams319 »

Hello,

I am new to this. As mentioned in the Subject Line I have a Wild M5 and the Photo Tube A, 256528, no lens or adapters for the Photo Tube.

I would like to be able to photograph a few things under the microscope. But I really don't know much other than it is possible. I have not been able find much on the internet so for.

Can any one give me a bit of advise or links to good references or tutorials.

Thanks,

Bob

Ichthyophthirius

Post by Ichthyophthirius »

Hi Bob,

What camera do you have?

The original instructions can be found here http://www.science-info.net/docs/wild/W ... or-Use.pdf The camera adaptation follows the "afocal" principle.

You need:
- an eyepiece
- a camera lens
- a clamp adapter to hold the camera

When you focus an object through the binoculars, take one of the eyepieces, put it in phototube A, exchange the binoculars for phototube A: is the object still in focus = are the eyepieces parfocal?

If so, is the inner diameter of the top of the phototube 30 mm, and the external diameter about 33 mm?

It's relatively easy to get suitable camera lenses and clamp adapters off the shelf. It mostly depends on the camera you want to use. An adapter for direct projection (not afocal) requires machining your own adapter if you have access to that. Please note that this microscope is mostly suitable for single-shot photography. Stacking is difficult because of the off-axis ray path.

Regards, Ichty

rwilliams319

Post by rwilliams319 »

Ichty,

Thanks for the reply. Now to answer your questions and a few more questions from the ignorant.