New to macro, would like to purchase a new camera and lens.

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

user6672

New to macro, would like to purchase a new camera and lens.

Post by user6672 »

Hello, I am new to macrophotography and I am looking to purchase a new camera. My main goals are to improve macrophotography and be able to take normal daily pictures such as outdoors and indoor portraits.

My current camera is a T1i and it is damaged beyond repair. I have a budget of approximately $1000 to purchase a new camera and any lenses. My current lens selection is only the t1i kit lens and a reversing ring.

I live in America, and if there is any other information I can provide I will gladly provide it.

Thank you for your help

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

User 6672, welcome aboard!

My T1i finally died a couple of months ago, after almost 8 years of loyal service. I had no need to upgrade that camera to some higher capability, so I just replaced the dead body with a used T1i purchased through eBay. That cost me $172, shipping included. The replacement body has minor cosmetic issues, but as far as I can tell it is 100% functional.

You might consider going the route of a used body, either T1i or any of the later T*i series, combined with purchasing a new, reconditioned, or used macro lens. Either of the Canon 100 mm EF macro lenses is very good. The "Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L IS USM Macro Lens" is excellent.