Getting the subject in focus

Just bought that first macro lens? Post here to get helpful feedback and answers to any questions you might have.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

MikeUK

Getting the subject in focus

Post by MikeUK »

Hello all,

A little deflated at the moment. I'm new to photography and newer to macro. I've seen some incredible images produced by the lens I have(Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM) but I feel a million miles away from accomplishing anything even close.

I don't know how people manage to get something like a bee in focus when I can't even get a multivitamin pill in focus.

Another issue I'm running in to which is probably compounding the problem, is that it's like I'm looking through a slit when it comes to focus.

Any advice appreciated.

P.S. I honestly think my hairline has receded since getting this lens, LOL.
Canon 750D/T6i

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Mike, welcome aboard.

The lens you have will focus from infinity to approximately 5 inches in front of the lens, just by turning the focus ring. At closest focus it has an optical magnification of 1:1, which means that it shoots a frame the same size as the sensor in your camera. If you cannot get any part of your subject in focus, then check to be sure that it's beyond that critical close focus limit.
it's like I'm looking through a slit when it comes to focus
That sounds to me like you can get part of your subject in focus, but the in-focus slab is a lot thinner than you hoped.

This is the classic "depth of field problem" in macro photography: the higher the magnification, the relatively shallower the depth of field gets.

There are three main approaches to attacking the depth of field problem: