Diffraction question with stereozoom scope

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

Trimitsis

Diffraction question with stereozoom scope

Post by Trimitsis »

I am new to photomicrography, though I have worked at 1:1 happily for many years. I have recently been experimenting with a Meiji EMZ8TR stereo zoom microscope with a Meiji 2.5x photo adapter to a Nikon D810. I am getting images I consider to be soft, and reading the forum I'm coming to think that diffraction is probably my main issue. But I'm confused about how to calculate apertures and diffraction limits with a stereo scope like the Meiji I'm using (as opposed to a compound with objectives that are labeled with NA). I'd be grateful for any insights.

More generally, am I barking up the right tree? If my goal is to photograph plant parts and insects at, say, 5x - 20x magnifications, is a stereo zoom scope adapted to a camera the best way to go? Should I instead be experimenting with microscope objectives stuck on the end of my camera? Or is something like the InfinitProbe TS-160 (http://www.infinity-usa.com/products.as ... robe-TS160) a way to photo-nirvana?

Many thanks!

Milton TrimitsisImage
Milton Trimitsis

Trimitsis

Post by Trimitsis »

I forgot to note that the magnification of the attached image is 1.75x (0.7 zoom setting multiplied by 2.5x photo adapter).

Milton
Milton Trimitsis

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »

Milton, welcome aboard!

It is close to impossible to calculate apertures and diffraction limits when working with stereo microscopes. Very few manufacturers publish the specifications that would be needed to do this.