A crazy optical setup

Have questions about the equipment used for macro- or micro- photography? Post those questions in this forum.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

soldevilla

A crazy optical setup

Post by soldevilla »

Tired of take micro minerals pictures with very little working distance that do not allow me to work with diffusers and reflectors like I want, I've been testing "crazy" optical settings to increase working distance.

At the end I found an interesting optical layout and it will make me to machine a special adapter. But I have no knowledge of optical ray tracing, and I propose if someone can test in the computer this idea. In my practical tests it have worked and creates image, with it seems that good quality, now I have to mechanize a piece that ensures the correct optical centering.

I have placed a microscope objective x4 or x10. Back, located about 30mm I have placed a Nikon x20, and approximately 160mm further away is the camera chip. The magnification varies greatly by slightly varying the distance between the two lenses.

Pau
Site Admin

Post by Pau »

A priory your idea really sounds crazy, a recipe of disaster I would say...but I'm very curious of see your results, even your preliminary tests.

If I understand well you want to take the first objective aerial image with the second objective that projects the further amplified image onto the sensor, but using them well outside their specification (30mm...varying the distance between the two lenses ...)

Sorry, I am not able to perform your calculations
Pau

rjlittlefield
Site Admin

Post by rjlittlefield »