Nikon D700 and bellows for 0.75 - 3x vs InfiniProbe TS-160

Starting out in microscopy? Post images and ask questions relating to the microscope and get answers from our more advanced users on the subject.

Moderators: rjlittlefield, ChrisR, Chris S., Pau

fishguy

Nikon D700 and bellows for 0.75 - 3x vs InfiniProbe TS-160

Post by fishguy »

Hello,

I'm relatively new to micro and macro photography. My interest stems from my profession - a fish pathologist. My images of fish are generally fine but I wish to up my game and greatly improve fine features, lesions and small parasites in images from the fish I examine. Last year, with Rik's help, I put together a system based mostly on what I already have regarding camera equipment: Nikon D700, Nikon 105 macro VR, 2x TC, Nikon R1C1 flash system and tripod. I added a stackshot controller and started assembling some nice images at 2x. I set and forget image capture process using the software to build stacks as images are collected. This system works fine but it is a little limiting since it is 2x and lens/tc changes are required for any other magnification. If photography was the primary focus then this limitation would probably not apply. However, photography is only one component of my work, and is accomplished in the lab with a number of other tasks going on at the same time. I would not attempt this type of photography in the field.