www.photomacrography.net :: View topic - Output dpi CZM
www.photomacrography.net Forum Index
An online community dedicated to the practices of photomacrography, close-up and macro photography, and photomicrography.
Photomacrography Front Page Amateurmicrography Front Page
Old Forums/Galleries
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Output dpi CZM

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
augusthouse



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1195
Location: New South Wales Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 2:17 am    Post subject: Output dpi CZM Reply with quote

I'm doing some tests with CZM (18th April) and TuFuse Pro.

Regarding image file output resolution, CZM is only giving me 96dpi? What am I missing here? My input images are 300dpi tiff files.

Craig
_________________
To use a classic quote from 'Antz' - "I almost know exactly what I'm doing!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lauriek
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Nov 2007
Posts: 2404
Location: South East UK

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Craig,

DPI is irrelevent, at least until you print, if not totally! Do your output pictures have the right sort of amount of pixels (it should have a little more resolution horizontally and vertically over your out of camera shots due to the 'positioning' space which the alignment process puts around all the input images.)

As long as this is the case just ignore the DPI thing - although you should be able to load up those output images and change the DPI in photoshop if you really want to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Graham Stabler



Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 209
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed how do you measure an inch in cyberspace

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augusthouse



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1195
Location: New South Wales Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys. I'm still working through this.

The pixels are there (minus cropping). I suppose I should have referred to ppi. Just needed to resize in Photoshop with resample unchecked.

Print is one destination of primary concern, so it looks like I need a DSLR with higher MP and/or Genuine Fractals.

Must have too much going on. I'm forgetting my ABC's.

Craig
_________________
To use a classic quote from 'Antz' - "I almost know exactly what I'm doing!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjlittlefield
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 19975
Location: Richland, Washington State, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to dpreview, your D100 is 3008 x 2000 pixels. That'll make a 10" x 7" print at 300 dpi.

If you want more resolution -- real resolution, not fractal faking -- you might consider stitching.

With flat subjects like butterfly wings, it's no great trouble to stitch say 2x2, which will give you more resolution from your D100 setup than you'll be able to afford in any single sensor.

With deeper subjects, you have to worry about parallax, but we understand now how to handle that problem by managing the entrance pupil.

--Rik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
augusthouse



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1195
Location: New South Wales Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Rik,
Stitching is now on my project list. I had temporarily forgotten about that technique. The XY in my setup was for composition and positioning, the Z for stacking; but as I now recall, stitching was also a calculated reason for the inclusion of precision XY capabilities. Those translation stages allow for extremely accurate positioning.

Craig
_________________
To use a classic quote from 'Antz' - "I almost know exactly what I'm doing!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.photomacrography.net Forum Index -> Macro and Micro Technique and Technical Discussions All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group